Skip to main content
Back to All Resources

ASTM Announces Shawn McCormick Recipient of Award of Merit

ASTM International held their June Committee Week in Denver earlier this month. During the event it was announced that Shawn McCormick, Laboratory Principle of SGS TEC Services would receive the prestigious ASTM International Award of Merit.

This award was given based on Shawn’s outstanding contributions and leadership in developing industry relevant standards and the overall operations of ASTM International Committee C09 on Concrete and Concrete Aggregates. Staff Manager and Lead Technology Specialist at ASTM International, W. Scot Orthey had this to say about Shawn,

With nearly 40 years’ experience in the construction materials field, McCormick has demonstrated remarkable leadership and technical expertise. He has served in various roles within ASTM, including Subcommittee Chair, Task Group leader, and Executive Committee Officer. McCormick’s contributions span multiple committees, and he has authored numerous standards and revisions. Beyond his technical contributions he is known for his welcoming and nurturing approach, making him a true ambassador for ASTM.

Congratulations on your well-deserved success Shawn!  

Info on the Award of Merit

The ASTM International Award of Merit is an award that was established in the industrial era following World War II as a response to the growing need to recognize outstanding contributions to the leadership and authorship of consensus standards for manufacturing specifications and analysis. The Award, established in 1949 by the ASTM International Board of Directors, is the highest society award granted to an individual ASTM member. It is given for distinguished service and outstanding leadership participation in consensus standards activities sponsored by ASTM International committees. Recipients of the Award of Merit also receive the honorary title of Fellow of ASTM International (FASTM).[1]

The ASTM International Award of Merit is presented at various technical conferences throughout the United States and is given on the basis of merit. The various ASTM Committees do not award this every year and some committees average one award every 4–5 years.